A better day: exercise and emotional first aid

Today was a better day.  🙂

This morning, I dragged myself to a total body strength class at the gym.  I’m so glad I did.  Honestly, the reward is the class.  I went once last week, for the first time, and this week, the teacher introduced herself to me, and she even complimented me on my form at one point during the class (“Go Amy!”)!  I also walked three miles at the nature preserve today.  I paced myself because of my ankles / calves, and they didn’t hurt as bad.  Around 3, I went to meet someone I have been in contact with from an organization I used to receive services from.  It was actually a relief to see her.  I hadn’t seen her in a long time, and I was worried she might be mad at me (long story), but she’s not.

My parents came home from vacationing in Lake Placid today.  I suppose it’s nice to see them. 🙂  Plus they brought me chocolate, lol.

I wanted to say, before I forget, that I read something, in a book called Emotional First Aid (by Guy Winch), about people with low self esteem.  It’s about a lot of things, actually, but there’s a part on low self esteem.  He compares low self esteem to a weak immune system.  He refers to a study in which “people were exposed to sad music to put them in a bad mood and were given the option to watch a comedy video to cheer up.  Although people with high self esteem jumped at the chance to have a laugh, people with low self esteem agreed that watching the video would improve their mood, but they declined to do so nonetheless.”  He then goes on to say, “When our self esteem is low, the resistance we have to positive experiences and information is quite sweeping.”  I thought that this was SO interesting!  And honestly, I could identify and relate with the people who agreed that watching comedy would improve their mood but declined to do so.  I have done this!  After reading this though, I felt empowered.  I think that awareness of our behaviors and how they are affecting our mood and success is important.  In my eyes, this is not sad, because it means we have the power to change.  Emotional First Aid is a great book.  Guy Winch gives the reader many practical tools on how to overcome and cope with everyday hurts like rejection, loneliness, and failure.

Have a good day and take care, wherever you are. 🙂

(View from my 3 mile hike today.  The leaves are changing!)

 

Leave a Reply

