Moving on from hurt

Today I went to see my friend R.  He said the concept behind moving on from hurt, is staying busy.  Go do things, social things, go to all the things!  I also want to explain a little about my break up.  I didn’t write here beforehand, that it wasn’t making me happy.  I just said it was going great. But the truth was there were things that made me unhappy and I felt like we weren’t compatible and that it was not the right timing for me. I actually wanted to be single too!  I missed it.  I decided to break up with him. At first, I thought it was an impulsive decision. But after talking to my therapist, I now see that I was thinking about it for a while, just not saying things to people.  I don’t regret my decision to break up with him.  But I do regret messaging him 2 days later.  It was impulsive, and I told him I missed him.  He was very nasty to me in his response, which, while making me realize how immature he is (I was not nasty to him when I broke up with him), also hurt a lot.  It was a long and unsolicited message on who he thinks I am as a partner, and basically closed the door on any communication or future for a relationship of any kind.  It really did hurt. I’m not sure why, but my whole life, I’ve been sensitive to mean comments.  Like I really take them to heart.  But I have a lot of support in my life.  There are people who care about me, want the best for me, and I care about them too!!  My mom and my friend K come to mind.  So I know that I have been triggered.

Anyway, while R says that the key to moving on is keeping busy (and I agree!), I will balance processing my feelings about what happened and also giving myself time to focus on other things!  I have a tendency to lament and mope when I’m alone (it just comes naturally, haha), and I think too much of this is unhealthy.

If anybody has any ideas on how to move on from hurt, feel free to post a comment.  If you’re going through a difficult time, know you have my ❤

 

Leave a Reply

